2Wire 802.11B USB Wireless Adapter

I have had an old desktop computer sitting on the floor beneath my desk for a while now. Since it did not have access to the internet, I was limited in what I could use it for. I recently got back my old 2Wire 802.11B USB Wireless Adapter, which I had lent to a relative. I have been spending the past few hours searching the web to try and get it working with Ubuntu 9.04. So far, I have been unsuccessful. I figured that I would try and ask the lazyweb for help. If anyone out there has gotten this wireless adapter working with Ubuntu, I would greatly appreciate it if you could outline what you did in the comments. Thanks a lot!

This entry was posted in Planet Ubuntu. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2Wire 802.11B USB Wireless Adapter

  1. Onkar says:

    I would love to help you and I could probably get access to this device in office. But my office PC has Ubuntu 8.04 and an upgrade would take at least a week as I am working on a release, can’t risk having a non-functional PC.
    I will ask around in office to see if anyone has tried making it work on Ubuntu 9.04.

  2. Mackenzie says:

    There are reports that Intel chips also cannot do 802.11b (only g). I’m guessing 802.11b is just plain screwed.

  3. nhandler says:

    Using ndisgtk, I loaded the .INF file that comes with the Windows driver. The light on the adapter is now on. However, I still cannot connect. Also, ndisgtk now freezes up whenever I try to relaunch it.

  4. Tormod says:

    Please use the bug tracker and not just lazyweb. Maybe you can contribute to https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/203477 ?

Leave a Reply

