Google Summer of Code Update #2

I’ve been spending the past few days working on a dashboard for DEX. I’ve been using Python, javascript, and jquery to create this dashboard (partially as a learning exercise). Earlier today, I started thinking that a visual mockup of the dashboard might be helpful, as it will allow me to create and revise a design based on feedback without having to touch the code. At this point, I had already written a fair bit of code and had a rough but working early version of a dashboard coded. So for the first mockup, I simply created it to match my code.

DEX Dashboard

Thanks to the generosity of the folks at Balsamiq, I was able to get myself a free key to create the mockup above. As I mentioned earlier, this is what the code currently looks like, not what it will look like. Next, I’m going to be spending some time revising that mockup so I have a visual goal to work towards. I also will be cleaning up the code that I currently have and making it available in a public VCS.

This entry was posted in Planet Debian, Planet Ubuntu and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Google Summer of Code Update #2

  1. Mauro says:

    Nice job. Which tool did you use to create the mockup?

  2. For mockups (or interface prototyping), I did discover those two links some time ago:

    http://pencil.evolus.vn/en-US/Home.aspx which is a Firefox extension. I just discovered that it now features “sketchy” stencils (like your mockup).

    http://developer.yahoo.com/ypatterns/about/stencils/ which are stencils from Yahoo.

  3. balsamiqVal says:

    Thanks for the shoutout, Nathan. Looks like your project is shaping up!
    Foo, Balsamiq Mockups for Desktop requires Adobe AIR, which is free. And while our tool is for sale, we give lots of keys away to people and organizations who qualify under these requirements: http://balsamiq.com/free

    Also, anyone can use the free version online (or the free 7-day demo), and use export/import to save your work.

    http://balsamiq.com/download

    I hope this helps.

  4. Pingback: Google Summer of Code Report #1 | Nathan Handler’s Blog

  5. Pingback: Nathan Handler: Google Summer of Code Report #1 | DolphinClass.NET

  6. Pingback: Google Summer of Code Report #1 | DolphinClass.NET

Leave a Reply

