Hello Planet Debian

Hello everyone. Per tradition, I will use my first post to Planet Debian as a bit of an introduction.

My name is Nathan Handler. I am Ubuntu Developer and a member of freenode staff. Currently, I am participating as a student in the Google Summer of Code program with Debian. I am working on Backend Tools and Infrastructure for DEX (aka “dextools”) with Matt Zimmerman as my mentor.

To quote the project description:

DEX is a new program designed to help improve Debian and its derivatives by merging in changes made downstream and encouraging discussions between the various projects. As this is a new project, most of the infrastructure does not exist (or is rather hackish and incomplete). This project will create the necessary backend tools and infrastructure so that all Debian derivatives can easily make use of the DEX project.

While I have not been great with updating my blog in the past, I am going to try and produce regular posts about my Summer of Code work. If you have any questions about DEX or are interested in getting involved, please check out the “Get Involved” section on the website.

This entry was posted in Planet Debian, Planet Ubuntu and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello Planet Debian

  1. Jim Campbell says:

    Congratulations, Nathan! I think you had set a goal of being a Debian Developer (??) by the time you finished school. I’m not sure if you’re a DD yet, but this is still pretty cool. Again, congrats!

    Also, minor thing, but you might want to change your hacker gotchi. You can’t really tell that it’s you.

    Hope all is well.

    • nhandler says:

      Nope, not a DD yet, but I haven’t given up on that yet. One of these days, I will find a DD to sign my key.

      As for the hackergotchi, my gimp skills are rather poor. I’d be more than glad to share the full-size version of the picture with anyone willing to make a better looking hackergotchi for me.

Leave a Reply

