Chicago Global Bug Jam 2009

As many of you know, I live right near the city of Chicago. Although the Chicago LoCo holds regular meetings, up until now, I have not attended any of them. However, this weekend, in honor of the Global Bug Jam, I decided to change that. The minute I arrived at the Bug Jam, I was greeted by everybody that was there. As I was being introduced to everyone, they were not only saying their names, they were also saying what name they went by on IRC. Being able to associate a face with the people I had been in contact with on IRC was a great feeling. They were no longer just a name in my IRC client, but an actual person.

After introductions were out of the way, it was bug squashing time. This is where the community feeling started to sink in for me. In one corner of the room, we had one person teaching another person how to program in C. In another corner, we had people working on a new logo for the ubuntu-chicago Launchpad page. And all over the place, we had people triaging and fixing bugs. Whenever somebody had a question, there was usually someone in the room who had the answer. However, even with all of the knowledgeable people that were present at the event, a question regarding 5-a-day came up that nobody knew the answer to. As I was preparing to ask the question on IRC, Richard Johnson pulled out his cell phone and first called Daniel Holbach, who was sleeping, and then called Jorge Castro who was able to answer the question. All over the internet, people refer to the Ubuntu Community. This bug jam really made it clear to me that we are not just a community, we are a giant family. Not only do we work together to make Ubuntu a great opperating system, but we also care and look out for each other.

Although we did not triage as many bugs as some of the other LoCo teams, I still feel that the Ubuntu Global Bug Jam was a huge success. It gave me the opportunity to meet up with many people that I had worked with on IRC. For anyone who is thinking about attending a LoCo event, I would strongly urge you to do so. You will not regret it.

This entry was posted in Planet Ubuntu. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chicago Global Bug Jam 2009

  1. Tim Potter says:

    Nice Nathan, I agree that I felt comfortable there. It was my first bug jam, and only the second meeting of most of the Chicago Linux peeps. However, I totally felt like part of the team. Even though I was only “triaging” or closing old bugs or other various tasks, I felt like it was contributing to the greater good of cleaning up launchpad.

    I will be watching for the next bug jam, and maybe then I can contribute more to bug fixing than triaging :-)

    Cheers

  2. nhandler says:

    Triaging bugs is a very important way to contribute to the Ubuntu community. If bugs do not contain all of the required information, or are assigned to the wrong package, they will most likely not be fixed. I am looking forward to getting to see you and the rest of the LoCo the next time I am able to attend one of the events.

  3. nixternal says:

    It was a pleasure finally getting to meet you Nathan. Everything went pretty darn good if you ask me, and I think I would like to start doing bug jams, packaging jams, and other things as well on a regular basis to keep us all going. Pretty much everyone that was there has hung out in the past and we have all created great friendships. If it were not for Jim, this would have been impossible. He was the Jackalope in shining armor :)

  4. Pingback: Ubuntu Global Bug Jam Success! | jonobacon@home

  5. castlefox says:

    I am also in the chicago area. I dont have a laptop though. Do most ppl bring there own computer? Its good to hear people had fun at the bug jam. I will do my best to turn out next time around.

  6. nhandler says:

    castlefox,

    Most people do bring their own computer to events like this. However, I know at the Global Bug Jam, at least one person brought two computers. So if not having a laptop is the only reason for not going to a LoCo event, I would strongly urge you to reconsider.

  7. Chang Wintle says:

    I like your post, the fact that your site is a little bit different makes it so interesting, I get sick up seeing the same old boring recycled stuff all of the time.

  8. eventhough I misuse the vast majority of of my afternoon on the internet taking part in video games like zynga poker or restaurant city, I always like to dedicate some time to check out a a small number of sites on occasion and I’m very pleased to report this newest blog post is genuinely rather good quality and tremendously more desirable than 1 / 2 the other trash I read today , anyways i’m off to enjoy a few rounds of facebook poker

Leave a Reply

